If you are under the age of 21 and a law enforcement official finds alcohol in your system during a traffic stop, you could face devastating consequences. In fact, having any detectable alcohol in your system could lead to charges, even if you consumed a very small amount of alcohol. Due to the zero-tolerance policy in Texas, some young drivers face charges even though they did not consume any alcohol at all.
It is crucial to go over the penalties associated with underage drunk driving and do everything in your power to protect your future.
License suspension and other underage drunk driving penalties
The Texas Department of Transportation reports that drivers under the age of 21 can face the suspension of their license for 60 days, a fine of as much as $500, community service for up to 40 hours and the requirement to complete an alcohol awareness course. These penalties become harsher for additional offenses.
In addition, drivers over the age of 17 who have a BAC level of .08 or higher can face a fine of as much as $2,000, have their license suspended for one year and could have to spend up to 180 days behind bars.
Other consequences due to underage drunk driving
Not only do underage drunk driving charges carry the possibility of strict court-imposed penalties, but the charges could impact your life in other ways. You could face academic challenges, sustain damage to your reputation and have difficulty landing a job later on as a result of your record. If you face charges due to drunk driving and you are under 21, it is essential to review the details of your case closely.